Minimum Requirements for Physiotherapy at Ukzn

Uncategorized 7

The field of physiotherapy is broad and includes six distinct areas, namely: Students who do not meet the above requirements may enroll in the Science Foundation program or complete a year of BSc, provided they successfully complete psychology, physics, and biology that year. Students can reapply for a bachelor`s degree in physiotherapy the following year. Professor Gounden was appointed HOD in 1994 (when Charles Liggins retired) until his own retirement in 2004. In 1998, the annual BPhysio courses were converted to the modular system and more UDW teaching positions were created as admission was increased to 40 students, including those from disadvantaged backgrounds, to improve health services for those who really need them. Academic development programmes and recognition of prior knowledge have also been introduced. Ms Gumede also exonerated Professor Gounden as HOD at that time. In 1996, the Department of Physical Therapy moved to the Westville Campus (E-Block), the year Professor Puckree was appointed. In 2004, the University of Durban Westville and the University of Natal merged to form the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Disciplines were also organized in schools and the department was first incorporated into the School of Physical Therapy, Sports Science and Optometry. Professor Puckree was appointed HOD in 2004 and principal of the school from 2005 to 2007.

Dr. Nadasan was appointed HOD from 2005 to 2006, Dr. Serela Ramklass was HOD in 2007 and Professor Sonill Maharaj was HOD from 2008 to 2015. In 2012, UKZN moved to a college structure and the Department of Physical Therapy was later incorporated into the School of Health Sciences as one of eight disciplines, which in turn is one of four schools in the College of Health Sciences. In 2016, Dr. Nadasan was appointed HOD under the leadership of the current Dean of the School of Health Sciences, Professor Mahmoud Soliman, and oversaw the initial preparation and implementation of the Decentralized Clinical Training Program (DCTP). In 2018, Saul Cobbing, who joined the department in 2010, was named HOD/Academic Leader. In 2020, physiotherapy at KZN celebrates its 56th anniversary! Health Sciences Course Tel: 031 260 8833/ 7950 E-mail: / Nursing Program Tel: 031 260 2203 E-mail: All BSc (Physiotherapy) applicants must spend time observing a professional physiotherapist and complete a certificate of attendance (minimum: 8 hours). Only observation sessions conducted between July 1, 2020 and July 31, 2021 will be accepted. You can download a certificate of attendance form from the Wits website under Additional Forms: In 1974, the first group of physiotherapy students were enrolled in a diploma program.

Ms Margaret Rhode (former UKZN lecturer) was part of the second group of 12 students supported by Professor Schultze in obtaining the NPA scholarship. Only four of these students graduated in 1979. Ms Jones was HOD, followed by Mr Liggins, as he often travelled within the United Kingdom. There were six joint health facility posts between NPA and UDW. Other speakers were Professor Gounden, Miss Marilyn Ashby, Miss Anne Bandle and Mrs Gumede, who made headlines as the first black lecturer to be appointed to UDW. This course was continued until 1980. Professors of anatomy, physiology and clinical sciences were conducted with medical students. In 1981, Thaya Nadasan (current UKZN Senior Lecturer) was part of the first group for the BPhysio degree (15 students), which continues to this day. Only four of these 15 students graduated in 1985.

Anatomy, with the first group of occupational therapy students, and physiology were done on the Westville campus along with biology, physics, chemistry and psychology. At that time, all physiotherapy conferences were still held at KEH. Ms. Nadasan was appointed to the Joint Health Establishment in 1988. Clinical training started in the second year and took place mainly at the KEH, which had 2500 beds, with all areas/clinical blocks such as general surgery, medicine, intensive care unit, outpatients and O&G. In addition, cardiology, critical care neurology and rehabilitation, pediatric neurology, hydrotherapy and outpatients were implemented at Wentworth Hospital, Spes Nova and Workman`s Accident and Rehabilitation Centre (St. Augustine Hospital). Admission requirements are subject to change. Please call +27 31 2607933 for more information on the physiotherapy application process. The Department of Physiotherapy at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) is the only physiotherapy training centre in the province of KwaZulu-Natal (KZN). The Department of Physiotherapy was established in 1964 at King Edward VIII Hospital (KEH) between the former Provincial Government of Natal (NPA) and the University of Durban Westville (UDW) under the direction of Professor Schultze, a specialist in physical medicine. He questioned the lack of non-white physiotherapists during the apartheid era and suggested that KEH become the training center for non-white physiotherapists.

All non-white students were recruited from the four former South African provinces. You should study for a national degree in physiotherapy and serve the entire country during this time. There were also students from Swaziland and Lesotho. Professor Schultze was the National Head of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine and Medical Services in South Africa. He was a doctor at KEH and responsible for training and ALL rehabilitation services (occupational therapy, PT Speech and Hearing, etc.) for the country.

Comments are closed.

Accept all cookies across Medicine Gov websites, or check and change settings We use cookies to improve your online experience and help advertise